Generative media · USA
Suno
A consumer product that turns a text prompt into a full song reached millions of paying subscribers in two years on shared output; it turned copyright lawsuits into label partnerships, and retention evidence is still missing.
Verdict: Gaps remain
Updated: 2026-10-06
01
Profile
- What it does
- A consumer product that generates a complete song, lyrics, vocals and instruments, from a text prompt; web, iOS and Android apps, and an in-browser Studio 2.0 in August 2026 [1]. Investor Menlo calls it "one of the fastest-growing consumer products in history since launching in December 2023" [4].
- Founded
- Cambridge, Massachusetts; product launched December 2023 [4]. Founders are former Kensho machine-learning researchers, CEO Mikey Shulman [8].
- Founders
- Mikey Shulman (CEO) and the former Kensho team; the company blog says "More than half of our team are musicians themselves" (press relay) [8]
- Pricing model
- Three credit-based tiers: Free with 50 credits a day and no commercial rights; Pro at $8/month with 2,500 credits, 20 downloads and commercial rights; Premier at $24/month with 10,000 credits and 60 downloads [3].
02
Growth timeline
2023-12
Product launch
[4]2024-05-21
Series B $125M
[1]2025-11-19
Series C $250M at $2.45B
"Nearly 100 million people have made music on Suno – many for the first time in their lives"
[2]2026-02-26
2M paid subscribers, $300M ARR (CEO LinkedIn post, press relay)
[6]2026-06-03
Series D $400M+ at $5.4B
[1]2026-09-09
v6 (9 September); BMG partnership 12 August, Believe/TuneCore partnership 8 September
[1]
03
Growth loop
- 1Text prompt
- 2A song in two minutes
- 3Share: feed, TikTok, Spotify
- 4Listener becomes a maker
- 5Downloads and commercial rights: paid tier
- Leak: copyright risk: lawsuit, settlement, a narrower free tier
The output is the advertising; the gate to the paid tier is the right to download. The red arrow shows how the copyright lawsuit narrowed that gate.
The drawing shows the shape of the loop; each node is explained in the list below. The red arrow marks value leaking out of the loop.
04
Mechanism
- Acquisition channels
- No paid-channel disclosure. The loop as written by investor Menlo: tracks shared by friends are discovered in feeds, and a listener becomes a maker by "type idea, click create" [4]. The "organic" claim is Menlo's, not Suno's own statement.
- Loop
- Prompt, a song in two minutes, sharing, the listener making their own song. Menlo's two examples: Xania Monet entering a Billboard radio chart and imoliver's "Stone" turning into a record deal [4]. These are anecdotes; the loop's measured speed was not disclosed.
- Activation
- The first value moment is the first song; the Free tier gives 50 credits a day [3]. Commercial rights and credit top-ups are paid-only; downloads are capped on paid plans (20 and 60 a month) [3]. That is a gate that pushes the move to paid (opinion).
- Retention evidence
- No retention evidence. Menlo writes that users spend "dozens of hours to perfect" tracks [4]; that is an observation, not measured retention. Churn, cohorts or output per subscriber were not shared.
- Role of pricing
- Credit based; commercial rights only in paid tiers [3]. Paid subscribers versus total users: 2M paying (February 2026, press relay) [6] against "nearly 100 million people" (November 2025) [2] are different dates and definitions; the ratio only gives an order of magnitude, roughly two percent (our arithmetic).
- Distribution moves
- Mobile apps (2024), the prosumer and professional segment via Studio [1][4], and label partnerships: Warner (November 2025), BMG (August 2026), Believe/TuneCore (September 2026) [1]. A move that turns legal risk into a distribution channel (opinion). Launch cadence: v3, v4, v4.5, v5.5, v6 and many features [1].
05
Real reading
The five questions of the Growth Claim Check, applied to this company's public claims.
- 01
What was measured, and by whom?
yes
Paid subscribers and ARR come from the CEO's LinkedIn post (press relay); "100M people" from the official blog; definitions not disclosed.
- 02
Perception or outcome?
yes
A paying subscriber is an outcome, not perception.
- 03
Is there a stability or quality metric?
no
Retention, churn or output per subscriber were never published.
- 04
Is there a counterfactual or cohort?
no
No cohort or control-group disclosure.
- 05
Nominal or real?
unclear
In a credit model it is unclear whether ARR is subscriptions only or includes credit packs; the narrower free tier may explain part of the subscriber jump (opinion).
Verdict
Gaps remain
Payment is real and speed is real; durability and the revenue definition are unknown. Most figures are press relays, not official releases.
Test your own claim with the same five questions: Growth Claim Check →
06
Shadow side
- Copyright lawsuits: the RIAA and major labels sued in mid-2024; a settlement with Warner in November 2025, UMG and Sony cases continue; Koda and GEMA in Europe (press relay) [6].
- The Free tier is narrow: no commercial rights, and credit top-ups only on paid plans [3]. Part of the growth may be forced conversion (opinion).
- The CEO at Bloomberg Screentime: "The last stats that we released were 2 million subscribers, $300 million in revenue. We are far beyond that by now." No new figure, only a claim (press relay) [7].
07
What it teaches a founder in Türkiye
This section is opinion; a reading, not a source.
- 01
(opinion) The output itself is the advertising. If the product makes something worth sharing, cut sharing friction instead of buying channels.
- 02
(opinion) A free tier is a gate, not a campaign. Suno moved downloads to paid; put the portable form of value behind the paywall, not the act of creating.
- 03
(opinion) Turning legal risk into partnership is a distribution move. In Turkey the same logic applies to collecting societies and publishers.
- 04
(opinion) The gap between "100 million people" and "2 million paying" is the measure of real growth. Write both numbers side by side in your own reporting.
- 05
(opinion) In a credit model, write down the ARR definition so investors and the team do not read the same number differently.
A question for you: remove this company's logo and drop the loop onto your own product. Which node stays empty?
08
Sources
Numbers are the references in the text. An 'opened' source was read by the researcher; 'secondary' ones are verified against their primary source before publication.
- [1]Suno blog index (release and partnership announcements with dates)
Suno · accessed 2026-10-05 · opened
Note: Studio 2.0; v6; BMG; Believe (titles and dates)
- [2]The Future of Music is Already Here (Series C announcement)
Suno · 2025-11-19 · opened
“Nearly 100 million people have made music on Suno – many for the first time in their lives”
- [3]
- [4]The Future of Music Is Participatory: Leading Suno's Series C
Menlo Ventures (Amy Wu Martin, Sabrina Lu) · 2025-11-19 · opened
“one of the fastest-growing consumer products in history since launching in December 2023”
- [5]AI music generator Suno hits 2M paid subscribers and $300M in ARR
TechCrunch · 2026-02-27 · secondary
Relayed wording: 2 million paid subscribers and $300M in annual recurring revenue
- [6]Suno: We've hit 2M paid subscribers and $300M annual revenue
Music Business Worldwide · 2026-02-26 · secondary
Relayed wording: 2M paid subscribers and $300M annual revenue
- [7]Suno is 'far beyond' 2M subscribers and $300M in revenue, says Mikey Shulman (Bloomberg Screentime relay)
Music Business Worldwide · 2026-10-02 · secondary
Relayed wording: The last stats that we released were 2 million subscribers, $300 million in revenue. We are far beyond that by now.
- [8]Suno has raised over $400M in Series D funding
MusicTech · 2026-06-03 · secondary
Relayed wording: More than half of our team are musicians themselves
09
Open questions
- The verbatim text of the CEO's LinkedIn post (2M subscribers, $300M) and the ARR definition.
- Full text and links of the Series D and Warner partnership blog posts.
- Retention, churn, output per subscriber: absent from every source.
- Headcount; whether Warner Music Group invested in Suno.